What does God require: Praise or Petitions?

i-am-who-i-am

God said to Moses I AM WHO I AM (Ex. 3.14).

The unchangeable reality, ever same. Then what are we trying to do by praying? Can we achieve the favor of God by Prayer?

What does God require praise or petition? There were 2 incidents that made me reflect on this question last week. The first one was in one of the sermons of last week, a priest was exhorting us to praise God for all the good he has done in our lives. Instead of approaching him always with petitions and problems to solve. The second was today during the adoration we had a long thanks giving service, in which people thanked God for the many graces that they have received.

But all the while, I was caught up with the philosophical implication of ‘I am who I am”. Will my prayer (be it praise or petition) make any difference to God. No it won’t and it should not, then what is happening? Why do I feel relieved or relaxed after the prayer?

I feel, the change or the transformation is taking place within us. We grow closer to ourselves, where I am in grip with myself. Here I will be able take my life with more acceptance and find meaning in the reality of the self and the people around me.

So it is a self-transformation rather than changing the mind of God as I want. Is still prayer meaningful? It a personal question which each one need to answer?

Is prayer still meaningful to you?

2 thoughts on “What does God require: Praise or Petitions?”

  1. As I began reading this post I felt that the answer to the initial question was neither. God does not require our praise nor petitions. I enjoy studying the Scriptures so I did a search, and everytime the word praise was mentioned it was either a man of God encouraging the people of God to give praise to God or they were giving praise to God themselves. So I would say that the one who offers praise to God has a level of understanding. I believe one who offers praise to God sees God’s finished work whether in direct connection to their petitions, something that He has done in the life or someone else’s, or they are simply in awe of His creation. Praise comes out of a heart full of an abundance of thankfulness and awe of God’s doings and praise naturally comes out of it. And biblically it seem to be expected from the people of God by the men of God. Praise is to declare, proclaim, rejoice in that which God has done.

    I am that I am!… We don’t need to try and change God’s mind. He loves us more than we truly love ourselves. Jer 29:11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. God loves us and is compassionate and is moved by His people. He understands what we are up against and our struggles more than we do and He has a plan for us.
    Hew 4:15,16 For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin. Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need. John 15:16 Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you. Phil 4:6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. 1Pet 5:7,8 Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time:Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you. James said we have not because we ask not.

    So I conclude that making petitions before God is for OUR own sake and is in our own best interest; if we believe that we will receive whatever we ask in accordance to His will. And if it is not His will, then we should know that God knows best and then seek understanding in the matter. I also conclude that praise of God is OUR delight, our joy, our peace. If we can see God’s involvement in our personal lives and see how he got us out of this or that or came through on a promise or a prayer, that just gives us more confidence for the next time we are in need. So the next time we go before the throne of grace we can Psa 100:4 Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name… Acknowledging what God has already done for us in times past. And because He changes not He is able to come threw for us again and again no matter the situation.

    One thing God is looking for though, are those who will worship Him in spirit and truth! But even worship (to bow down, to submit to) in itself is at the discretion of the believer. I am that I am! is self-sufficient and is in need of nothing. However, it is said that it is better to give than to receive, I believe God desires to give to His people whatever they may lack so that none of His people lacks of anything, I think God is pleased with His people when we see our own insufficiency and believe that His grace is sufficient and humble ourselves and ask for His help, inviting Him into our situation.

    The End!

    Like

    1. hi thanks for your visit and the reflections

      As you also have mentioned, i too feel that “i am who i am’ represents the self-sufficiency of God.

      However, I do not feel that he asks of us a slave like dependence on Him. Rather, he has created us beings with reason and freedom. It is these qualities that distinguish us form the other creation.

      And we can also never say that no of his people lacks anything, no it is not true, accepting this we may be living in a fool’s paradise. Just listen to the prayers of petitions that are made in and around us, what it proves, nothing but the contrary.
      I feel and strongly believe that all that prayer does is a inner transformation of the individual.

      Hope to hear from you more

      Like

Leave a Reply

